Why Transparency Is Essential |Entrepreneur

In the June Issue of Entrepreneur Magazine, I read a great article about corporate (really, internal) transparency and building trust in business.

As a freelancer, I have about 2 seconds to guarantee an author, a publisher, or a literary agent that I am trustworthy and credentialed enough to give them polished and publishable prose every time I look at a manuscript: novel, novella, or flash. I have to do this by selling my activity as a reader and editor, also my education which spans across Psychology, Communications, Public Relations, and Creative Writing. All of that comes from word selection and letting the employer know that I can walk the walk as well as talk the talk.

Why Transparency Is Essential to a Trusting Staff | Entrepreneur.com.

Though I am a freelancer and only work for myself, I have been in situations in the workplace where my opinion was given to me  or not necessary at all in the process of business. While it granted me the freedom of just sort of going through the motions, it also made me feel like I had the freedom to just sort of go through the motions.

See the problem there?

An employee opinion shows an administrator that an employee is paying attention, keeping tabs, and is spending enough time (which equates into Passion for the Work) outside of work to think about work. Isn’t that what an employer wants, passionate employees?

So, why not ask for their input? Getting the employees involved helps a company “better weather the storm” of layoffs, cutbacks, and budget dents that require the remaining staff to pull together–not keep looking over their shoulders wondering when their shoe will drop.

Alternative input, from an administrative perspective, also has the potential for keeping goals and objectives fresh. Bugs can be seen and fixed. Groupthink and mob mentalities can almost be eradicated. Just seek out the input of the people you deemed trustworthy enough to take part in your company, and they will work even harder when they realize they can trust you, too.

