Put a little spice in the…conference room?|Entrepreneur Magazine

There’s a great article in this month’s issue of Entrepreneur, called “The Great Escape,” about adding a little variety to your business plan–“escaping” the stagnancy of “the echo chamber.” Which diversifying is always a great idea, but that isn’t exactly what they’re talking about here.

“What bores you about your business?”

This, for me, right now, is just about everything. And really that speaks more to the fact that I just wanted to jump right into big book-length manuscripts. Dirtying everything right up to my elbows with red ink, but I’m stuck. Freelancing could be fun, if I could get a job. But I don’t want to edit a novel for $5–total; so, I look to other avenues. Editing small chunks of promotional copy or press releases. Or nothing at all because I actually kind of want to get paid for it.

I really enjoy reading, and I can shred a story to pieces correcting grammar, tightening dialogue, and making scenes and entire narrative arcs pop–but no one wants to pay for my time. I’m not a fresh out of college or still in college young’un looking for spare change. I need real income for real bills, and without coughing up monthly fees for freelancing sites or professional organizations it seems like the whole freelancing gig is passing me by.

Books, stories are my life. I live to tell and read them (sometimes even watch or listen to them), they are truly my passion. And I feel stymied because I don’t have enough money to pursue it.

But Ericka Napoletano‘s questions, the former, and “Would you rather be scared because you made a calculated escape or bored because you refused to explore ways to grow?” have given me a punch to the gut. Should I be talking to authors or literary agents instead? Freelancing would give me great hands-on experience, but I can’t go broke in the process–unless I’m editing simultaneously, but I also have a house to keep and family to feed. I don’t honestly know how people do it without losing sleep or relationships in the process.

 

2 thoughts on “Put a little spice in the…conference room?|Entrepreneur Magazine

  1. Hi, thanks for sharing your thoughts. My advice: look into getting a part-time job (in a related area) and then to edditing on the side. This will give you a steady income each month and a chance to build up your contacts so you can really go full-time into freelance. If you rely on just landing freelance jobs, then you are in for some sleepless nights as it is a tough field. Don’t give up though! Maybe (and this is just an idea), once you get some steady income coming in, perhaps volunteer yourself to agents/publishers…once they see how good you are you could then change to a pay model. Not sure if this would work with them but It’s something that I would try in your situation.

    Wishing you all the best. S

    1. Hi, thanks for leaving a comment! I had a part-time position in the field, but then got laid off more than a year later. I’m always looking for brick-and-mortar type positions, too; but in southwest MO I’m having a hard time finding something close to my area. Again, appreciate the advice, and thanks for stopping by!

Comments are closed.