Writer’s Digest | Breaking the Rules of #Writing with YA Author Ransom Riggs

For those of us in the know, Ransom Riggs wrote a flourishing YA novel Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and a stunning sequel Hollow City. So, Writer’s Digest interviewed him about how he became an author (by accident?!), breaking the rules of writing, and following your heart to greater things. If you needed a reason to take a quick break from your NaNoWriMo word counts, Ransom Riggs is more than good enough!

[I] was chasing the white pony of having a film career [and] doing whatever I could do: making short films and editing things and freelance writing. The writing thing came about completely by accident. … I never really wanted [it], or looked for it. I feel like the opposite might be true, instead, where if I’d tried really hard to be a writer, maybe someone would’ve [asked], “Do you want to be a filmmaker instead?” And I would’ve [said], “OK”—the theory of inverse effort.

I think [filmmaking] was a way for me to get into novel writing, which is not something I might have done on my own. Now that I’m doing it, I find that with each Peculiar Children book I have to work harder to include photos. The story has all this momentum of its own now.

He even gives some great advice about taking writing advice, creating a schedule and taking days off, and how much time to take off between projects.

So get some breakfast, take a quick break, and enjoy a good read about a successful author!

How to Break the Rules of Writing (& More) According to Bestselling YA author Ransom Riggs | WritersDigest.com.

