#NaNoWriMo Day 14: Who Are Your Characters Really?

NaNoWriMo Banner 11.1.14

I wonder, do we ever really get to know our characters? Because they are creations–though sometimes they feel like real people who are following you around trying to get you to listen to their story–do we assume we already do?

I thought I knew who Arabella was when I started writing this story. I thought I knew her nature, her personality, her essence. However, the way Vivienne is telling me this story, I don’t know anymore. While I thought I had her pegged as a certain kind of supernatural being–she might be waffling. I may have to actually do some research between the two supernatural beings I’m getting the vibe of here and see what their differences and similarities are. I find myself continually asking “Is Arabella who she says/I think/Vivienne thinks she is?” I can’t wait to find out.

I wrote 2,620 words today, boosting my daily word average over 1900, and I’ve achieved NaNo’s next word count badge for reaching 25,000 words. I’m well beyond Day 16’s count goal, and there’s no way in Hell I’m stopping now! 🙂

How are all of you doing so far?

Total Word Count, so far: 26,866/50,000

