#NaNoWriMo Day 17: Getting to the Action

NaNoWriMo Banner 11.1.14I have to admit, it’s been quite some time since I’ve written fiction like this. I’m trying to be as true to my characters’ voices and perspectives as possible without being too graphic or too cute. However, I don’t want to sound too clinical or too stereotypical, either. I don’t want it to sound like all the other horror or all the other erotica out there–I want this to sound unique, real I guess, maybe authentic is what I’m looking for. I’m not aiming for full-on genre, and I’m not aiming for full-on literary, but the best of both worlds.

Another short day today, but I’m right in the thick of one of the more prominent sex scenes for this story. I didn’t know it was going to happen in a dream, but Vivienne kept giving all these indications that their first coupling wasn’t going to be “real.” However, I have a feeling both of them will remember it. Especially since Arabella has been “with her” since she dropped Vivi off at the end of day one. Based on what Vivienne is telling me right now, I’m very much looking forward to day two.

I wrote 1,551 words today, maintaining a daily word average in the 1,900s. I’m still churning out enough to stay ahead of the next day’s daily count goal, and I’m glad to have the padding in case I don’t have time to write or get stuck somewhere. But, thankfully, so far so good in that arena.

How are all of you doing so far?

Total Word Count, so far: 33,373/50,000

