#NaNoWriMo Day 19: Back Story (Part 2) and The End?

NaNoWriMo Banner 11.1.14Holy, holy, holy–Lots of changes in Vivi and Arabella land today. I’m thinking about cutting the 5-year back story out–not down, out–because well, it’s a lot of baggage for this short to gloss over. At least, it feels that way. Though, Vivienne is getting to that summary check point soon. Even though, I could probably get away with the summary as Vivi is reciting it to me right now–Eh, I just don’t know. Though, the romance is paying off in spades. Gotta be glad that’s going smoothly at least.

So, yes, we are approaching the end of Vivi’s story, and if the other girls are anywhere near the storyteller that she is, well, this is going to be a lengthy collection. Though, I don’t think I’ll have too much of  a problem with that–especially since this wouldn’t be the first time I’d reached 50,000 without having a complete story. Last year’s NaNo winner is still sitting unfinished in a folder on my desktop. Oh, the sadness.

But it makes me think about editing, and the process of it and when to perform it. The experts say you need to give a story time before you start editing–I suppose I’ve done that already. But the process of writing, of putting coherent language on the page that someone else will come along behind you and need to understand, puts in perspective the expectations of editing. What is clear; what needs work; and how do I do all of this without trashing the entire story? How do I do all of that without hurting the author’s original intent?

My intent, right now, is to get Vivi’s story out the way she’s telling it. If that means she spent 5 years loving Arabella that she doesn’t necessarily need to reveal for the story to have impact, then I need to figure out how to make that work.

I wrote 2,282 words today, keeping my daily average above 1900, and totally making up for the short days I had this week (at least in my humble opinion). I’ve put my word count beyond the Day 22 goal, and even though there are mornings where I feel like I might just skip–I haven’t yet.

How are all of you doing so far?

Total Word Count, so far: 36,709/50,000

