Writer’s Digest | Reflecting on NaNoWriMo and Adapting #WritingStyles

NaNoWriMo Banner 11.1.14

For “There Are No Rules”, Cris Freese seeks out the opinions of fellow NaNoWriMo participants to explore how this daily writing challenge (1,667 words per day to finish 50K words in 30 days) can upend or enhance a writer’s regular writing style.

Personally, November is the only time I write daily throughout the year. I also don’t consider myself an author; I am a writer of necessity–I simply cannot help myself for the ideas I get from my muse. Normally, throughout the rest of the year, when I get an idea, I’ll sprint it out and leave it for editing later. November, though, is when I really get to explore a larger piece and spend 30 days swimming and luxuriating in it.

Having those 30 days, knowing they’re coming every year, it is a time I look forward to. I plan ideas out in the months ahead, think about names and general plot directions so that I can just sit down November 1-30 and write. It’s delicious.

So, getting inside the heads of regular NaNo participants and writers who write regularly, it’s interesting to see how the new NaNo “grind” can alter established writing routines.

Read the entire article by clicking the link below, and enjoy an introductory excerpt from the article.

Daily Writing Routine: How You Must Adapt to NaNoWriMo | WritersDigest.com.

National Novel Writing Month isn’t just a test of your writing prowess. In many ways, it’s more of a test of your determination, will power, and ability to hold yourself accountable. Are you going to stick to your 50,000 word goal? What are your daily goals? How do you handle potentially falling behind?

Most importantly, NaNoWriMo will teach you how to adapt as a writer. For the most part, your daily (weekly?) routines of writing will get thrown out the window during this month. You’ll have to learn how to accept bad writing and edit later. For some (myself included), that’s tough to do. The thought that there could potentially be bad writing in what I’m working on is cringe-worthy.

