Writer.ly | Finding the #Theme of Your #Memoir

I love the memoir genre. In my mind, that truly is the essence of another’s story. It allows for the memory to flit and float around haphazardly as it naturally does, and it allows for a little fantasy on the behalf of the writer and the readers.

So, for any memoir writers struggling with finding the essence of their own story, Abigail Carter, who has published her own memoir and a novel, has compiled 10 easy tips for finding your memoir’s theme. Like Abigail says, “It’s OK to have a whole book written and still not be sure what it is you’re trying to say. In fact it’s common.”

Read the entire article by clicking the link below, and enjoy an introductory excerpt about when Abigail discovered the theme of her memoir–probably a pretty frustrating experience!

10 Tips for Finding The Theme of Your Memoir | Abigail Carter – Writer.ly Community.

I don’t think I truly understood the theme of my memoir until it was published and I began doing radio interviews where the announcers expect short, quippy replies to their questions. I had to make up sound bites on the spot and in doing so I discovered my theme: The silver lining of grief.

