#NaNoWriMo Day 3 | Character Surprises #AmWriting

Source: NaNoWriMo.org
Source: NaNoWriMo.org

 

Today was a great stretch of writing. I’m one more “scene” (Well, sets of scenes because until today my antagonist and protagonist hadn’t technically shared a space, except for the kidnapping, which took place off-camera, in a word.) closer to being done, and boy, did my characters surprise me today!

The antagonist seemed so much more prepared for his captives, then my protagonist got a crazy idea. She’d, apparently, had enough of her antagonist, too. Though she didn’t articulate the reason why to me yet, she may still have a chance because my antagonist isn’t done with her. But, she took a chance, got creative, and felt like she had the power to. It flew out of my fingertips, and I love when the writing goes like that.

I’ll also be introducing a new character tomorrow, minor but important to what remains of the plot. Like some of the other minor characters in this book, I think I’m going to have some fun with him. I’m already working on a profile–well, in my head anyway–and I can’t wait to come back tomorrow and round out this surprise-laden scene!

How did your third day go? Are you making your daily goals?

Words written Day 3: 1,863

